Windows outperforms Linux in OpenSCAD?

Hmm… it’s very interesting! Should I change the title?

Result of Devuan 64 bit system: AMD FX-6100, 8 G memory, Radeon 3000
OpenSCAD version 2017.02.11.nightly
v20170211

Saved backup file: /home/penguin/.local/share/OpenSCAD/backups/pipe-desk-light-v1-backup-ikn13960.scad
Compiling design (CSG Tree generation)...

Rendering Polygon Mesh using CGAL...
Geometries in cache: 243
Geometry cache size in bytes: 43207792
CGAL Polyhedrons in cache: 9
CGAL cache size in bytes: 82551656
Total rendering time: 0 hours, 43 minutes, 35 seconds
   Top level object is a 3D object:
   Simple:        yes
   Vertices:    32767
   Halfedges:  105296
   Edges:       52648
   Halffacets:  39766
   Facets:      19883
   Volumes:         2
Rendering finished.

2/13/2017

I built a graphic workstation lately:
– Intel Core i5, Skylake
– DDR4 32G memory
– Gigabit micro-ATX motherboard
– NVIDIA Quadro 4000 (used one)

I installed Windows 8.1 on it to learn Autodesk Fusion 360. Out of curiosity I installed latest version of OpenSCAD and rendered the model that challenged me in many ways. On Devuan Linux workstation it finished rendering in two hours and thirty minutes.

When I saw the rendering time on Windows box, I got baffled honestly. Windows box outperformed Linux one five times faster. Suppose suppose I had been running Windows instead Linux, I couldn’t know about performance limitation of OpenSCAD.

i5-box-openscad-rendering


One important lesson I’ve learned for the past two months is “Never give up! Keep trying as much as I can.”

Since I got into RepRap 3D Printing technology, it’s been challenging time, a lot of high and fall, contemplating of situation, decision makings that impact my time and energy.

I touched and learned C, C++, Java, Python, Cython, OpenSCAD, Blender, FreeCAD, BRL-CAD, OpenJSCAD. For 3D modeling I gonna use Blender, OpenSCAD/OpenJSCAD, and Autodesk Fusion 360.

Blender is good for organic, complex models that do not require precise dimension. It supports multithread and GPU.  There are many tutorials on the net.  Blender: Noob to Pro has 1900 pages. Understanding one third of the wiki content can make simple models relatively easy.  Mesh object is hollow. It involves repetitive manipulation of vertices, edges, and faces.

A cat model (http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2022865)

A Husky dog model (http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2025114)
It took about two hours.

20170107_0075

FreeCAD has potential but honestly it’s not fit for the production tool. Yesterday I found myself wasting valuable time just to finish one simple model. If 3D modeling is a hobby, I might spend more time until I get familiar with FreeCAD dirty secrets,  also contributing documentation and feature testing.  The latest stable crashes often.

I created the bulb cap in FreeCAD a week ago part of investigation activity. The workflow is in three stage:

  1. Create a 2D model called as a sketch that involves constraints. Because I heavily influenced by OpenSCAD, handling constraints are still obscure and tedious.

bulb-cap2-sketch2

2. Create the core 3D model using the sketch. Then apply series of boolean operation to make the desired shape: union, difference, intersection, and fusion.

bulb-cap2-row2-cut-failure1

3. Generate a mesh object from the 3D model for 3D Printing.

bulb-cap2-mesh

About janpenguin

Email: janpenguin [at] riseup [dot] net Every content on the blog is made by Free and Open Source Software in GNU/Linux.
This entry was posted in GNU/Linux, Reprap 3D Printer and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

