Bulbul Junior 3D Printer operation log – Day 3

I made a warm air blower using a 60W light bulb and a 12V DC fan to test heat effect on the 3D Printer. Last night before I went to sleep, I checked the temperature of 60W light bulb using IR thermometer. It went upto 165+ Celsius degrees and maintain it. So I thought it could be use as a heating element for an experiment.

12V DC fan on 5V blows gentle air through the light bulb and this lucrative warm air blower raise the temperature around the print bed over 30 degrees, which is ten degrees higher than room temperature.

Once I install complete enclosure made out of cardboard, I think the temperature of print bed would be around 40 degrees.

cDSC_0009

cDSC_0005

I printed five to six cubes for dimensional calibration.

Source: http://whatskenmaking.com/2014/06/16/object-size-calibration-in-a-delta-printer/

new DELTA_DIAGONAL_ROD = measured_length / target_length * original DELTA_DIAGONAL_ROD

cDSC_0020

cDSC_0022

cDSC_0024

cDSC_0026

cDSC_0027

What makes the first layer wider than other layers?

cDSC_0031

cDSC_0033

cDSC_0035

The warm air blower could raise the temperature near the print bed over 33 Celsius degrees. But I’ve found the first layer wouldn’t stick well. So I applied the glue stick on the print bed before printing, and it worked like a magic.

After the key fob finished printing, it glued so tight on the tape that I had to rip off the tape. I’ll try it again for next printing object.

cDSC_0037

cDSC_0039

About janpenguin

Email: janpenguin [at] riseup [dot] net Every content on the blog is made by Free and Open Source Software in GNU/Linux.
This entry was posted in DIY, Reprap 3D Printer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

