Building of Mini Kossel 3D Printer – 21

Building of Mini Kossel 3D Printer – 20

I reused foam and paper print bed I made previously.

The operator of metal cutting saw at the metal company did favor for me cutting hexagon plate which supposedly identical to the paper bed. When I came home and inspected them, there was two milimeter off.
cDSC_0065

Three hours of filing just removed 1 mm off the plate. I didn’t want to waste my time anymore. So I went out to the machine shop and got it done.
cDSC_0067

cDSC_0069

After lunch I spent two hours to prepare one print bed and install on the 3D Printer. Modifying one small part creates two or three problems. Because the hexagon plate has bigger surface area than the round bed whose diameter is 170 mm, I had to remove two to three milimeters off from the mounting pieces, and installed in reverse position to secure the print bed.
cDSC_0071

The instruction manual suggests installing the auto level probe retractor 80 mm off from Z axis.
To do it I will have to drill a hole on the print bed which will be the last resort. I think there is way of changing the retractor position in the firmware.

Aluminium frame and print bed look slick which is more than my expectation.
cDSC_0073

cDSC_0075

I gonna order 2 kg of PLA rolls and start real printing within few days. I hope by the end of this weekend, I’ll be able to finish basic calibrations of the print.

About janpenguin

Email: janpenguin [at] riseup [dot] net Every content on the blog is made by Free and Open Source Software in GNU/Linux.
This entry was posted in DIY, Reprap 3D Printer and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

