Building of Mini Kossel 3D Printer – 13

Building of Mini Kossel 3D Printer – 12

I ran few tests on the modified ATX PSU and I found reliability issue. I’m planning to modify another ATX PSU soon. This time I’ll follow the modification procedure on Reprap Wiki.
10W 10 ohm resistor resulted 11.58V @ 1.17A.
55W 12V headlight bulb resulted 10.09V @ 3.75A.
Connecting two 55W 12V headlight bulbs in parallel made freeze the PSU. I expected to read around 10V but when the power switch was on, it simply stalled. The fan gave a jerk then stopped spinning.

cDSC_0056

cDSC_0058

I removed two polyfuse on the RAMPS 1.4 controller to install blade fuses.
cDSC_0048

(Previous content)

According to Reprap Wiki, RAMPS 1.4 controller requires maxium 12V at 16A. I converted a used 450W ATX power supply for RAMPS 1.4 controller that I bought few months ago for 12,000 KRW.

I installed a power switch and one fuse holder that takes automotive blade fuse.
I merged all positive 12V wires to make two 12V wires whose size is AWG 16 and did the same thing on ground wires.

It has two positive 12V output, 15A blade fuse that protects the power supply.
cDSC_0028

cDSC_0030

cDSC_0032

Build procedure

Turning on the power supply by connecting the green wire after opening up the case.
cDSC_0005

Removing unnecessary wires except positive 12V wires (yellow), ground wires (black), one green wire (power switch), and gray for turning on LED light in future.
cDSC_0006

cDSC_0007

cDSC_0009

Installing the fuse holder and power switch

Attaching positive 12V wires to the fuse holder.
cDSC_0010

cDSC_0012

Connecting green and black wires to the power switch.
cDSC_0015

Merging all the ground wires and split it to two AWG 16 wires.
cDSC_0017

cDSC_0018

Adding two AWG 16 wires to the 12V positive wire.
cDSC_0020

Testing the modified 12V power supply.
Checking voltage of the two 12V wires. Initial test went fine. I was afraid to measure the current using my multimeter whose maximum current is 20A. I’m uncertain how much current this power supply produces without load because I merged the two positive 12V rails – one produces 14A, the other produces 16A. I’ll connect a 12V device that consumes few amperes.
cDSC_0022

cDSC_0025

I made an outlet five or six days ago that has 15A circuit breaker to isolate potential incident in the lab.
cDSC_0026

Butane soldering iron made by Korean company. It worked beyond my expectation.
cDSC_0034

cDSC_0036

cDSC_0038

The manufacturer suggest using specialized butane can to refill the iron. But I can use regular butane can too.
cDSC_0040

About janpenguin

Email: janpenguin [at] riseup [dot] net Every content on the blog is made by Free and Open Source Software in GNU/Linux.
This entry was posted in DIY, Reprap 3D Printer and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

