Journal of 2014/06/19

The two days of work started at 5:30 AM on Wednesday, finished at 8:00 AM on Thursday June 19th, 2014.

I rented a hydraulic press called ‘Brick Cutter’ from a tool rental / repair shop on Wednesday morning for 30,000.00 KRW per day fee. I moved it to the camp using a borrowed car then came back there on my R1 half hour later.

cDSC_0816

I spent few hours to modify it for flattening end of the steel pipe I have and tested twice on scrape pipes. Fortunately the brick cutter’s blade was easy to remove and install.

cDSC_0766

cDSC_0761

cDSC_0763

I managed to produce flattened end of pipe for maximum strength against force. Now I fully understood what features the hydraulic press needs for pipe flattening. I’ll build a hydraulic press that uses steel beams that I purchased two days ago.

cDSC_0003

To have even surface of ends of flattened pipe, pipe ends need to be sliced so that it prevents forming bulge as it is shown below photos.

cDSC_0007

cDSC_0005

From Wednesday noon till about five o’clock morning yesterday I had worked on making two cuts on each pipe’s end. I think I slept one hour yesterday.

People often ask me why I’m not outsourcing this kind of work. A metal fabrication company quoted me 800 KRW per pipe for flattening work, total service fee was around 168,000 KRW. Honestly it’s reasonable price of using a big press machine that requires two operators in a company.

However I decided to do everything by myself related to the house project if possible so that I would be able to say and teach for others who want to have affordable shelter or house under few thousands dollars anywhere.

About janpenguin

Email: janpenguin [at] riseup [dot] net Every content on the blog is made by Free and Open Source Software in GNU/Linux.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

